Friday, August 12, 2022

Smithfield Occasions wins 24 awards for journalistic, promoting excellence – Smithfield Occasions

Must read

The Smithfield Occasions earned 24 awards within the Virginia Press Affiliation’s 2021 information and promoting contest.

The awards, historically given throughout a banquet at VPA’s annual assembly, have been introduced nearly April 25-28 for the third yr in a row as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.

“Recognition by our friends for excellent journalism is gratifying,” mentioned Occasions Writer Steve Stewart. “We’re blessed to chronicle a vibrant neighborhood filled with engaged residents who admire a newspaper’s vital position. We do what we do in service to our readers, and when recognition comes our means in consequence, we’re honored.”

The Smithfield Occasions competes within the VPA’s Non-Day by day 2 class in opposition to different non-daily papers all through the state which have whole paid print circulation between 2,300 and 4,999.

The awards have been judged by journalists and promoting professionals from the Pennsylvania NewsMedia Affiliation.

Reporter Stephen Faleski gained 10 awards, together with 4 first-place honors.

“Stephen is likely one of the brightest younger journalists I’ve labored with in 4 many years enhancing and publishing neighborhood newspapers,” Stewart added. “His lengthy checklist of VPA honors isn’t any shock to me.”

Writer Steve Stewart gained first place in Editorial Writing, and Writer Emeritus John Edwards gained first place in Column Writing for his weekly “Within the Quick Rows.” Designer Jen Jaqua gained two first-place awards, as did former reporter Nate Delesline III. 

Beneath is an inventory of the profitable entries, which have been printed Jan. 1 by Dec. 31, 2021.

First Place

  • Breaking Information Picture – Stephen Faleski
  • Picture Illustration – Jen Jaqua
  • Basic Information Picture – Stephen Faleski
  • Member Self-Promotion – Lindsay Richardson
  • Enterprise and Monetary Writing – Nate Delesline III
  • Public Discover Story – Stephen Faleski
  • Illustrations – Jen Jaqua
  • Editorial Writing – Steve Stewart
  • Column Writing – John Edwards
  • Basic Information Writing – Stephen Faleski, Tracy Agnew
  • Sports activities Writing Portfolio – Nate Delesline III

Second Place

  • Member Self-Promotion – Lindsay Richardson
  • Character or Portrait Picture – Jen Jaqua
  • Well being, Science and Environmental Writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Training Writing – Nate Delesline III
  • Authorities Writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Characteristic Writing Portfolio – Nate Delesline III
  • Mixture Image and Story – Jen Jaqua, Stephen Faleski
  • Sports activities Writing Portfolio – Titus Mohler

Third Place

  • Sports activities Information Picture – Stephen Faleski
  • Particular Sections or Particular Editions – Tracy Agnew, Nate Delesline III, Stephen Faleski, Jen Jaqua
  • Authorities Writing – Stephen Faleski
  • Life – Dana Snow
  • Public Security Writing – Nate Delesline III


Supply hyperlink

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article